Along Long Lake, Washington, USA by Brie A. Edwards

I was really not sure what to take photos of this week. I seem to keep taking photos of plants recently because they are right outside my door and not the bland suburban landscape that surrounds me. I am getting a bit bored with plant/flower macro photos and need to expand what my photo taking subjects again.

With that in mind, I took a drive just to the west of where I live along Long Lake and through Tum Tum., Washington I had not been out in the direction for many years and it was interesting to me to refresh my mind on what the area looks like.

Long Lake is having a bit of an algae problem at the moment on one of it’s shores. Ecologists are trying to find out what is causing it. Other than that, it is a pretty area and very quiet. There were some water skiers, swimmers, and people fishing on Long Lake but it wasn’t a noisy crowd at all.

LongLake1

Near Suncrest, Washington on Long Lake.

LongLake2

Rocky hills that still show some scars from fires years ago via the skeletal trees on them.

LongLake3

Brush and trees are starting to have leaves change and fall off due to a mixture of very hot summer and autumn setting in.

LongLake6

You can see some of the algae I spoke of across Long lake in this photo. It spans that whole side of the lake. It is also a little hazy due to wildfires in different areas of the state.

LongLake4

Looking further west at Long Lake. It goes on toward the Spokane Indian Reservation before becoming a river connecting to the Columbia River.

LongLake5

A quick photo near the location of the area I posted photos of last time. Now everything is turning fall colours and going yellow/brown.

You can see more pf my photos here:  https://www.flickr.com/photos/shadownlitephoto/

Leave a Reply

